Beautiful Beni Bolivia

Beautiful Beni Bolivia

Beni Bolivia (better known as just “Beni”) is a department of Bolivia that borders with another department named Pando. Santa Cruz is another department located to the east of Bolivia. La Paz, and Cochabamba are located to the south of the country, Beni is the second largest department of Bolivia.


This department covers an area measuring 213,564 sq kilometers and has over 400,000 inhabitants. Roughly 100,000 of these people live in the capital city of this Bolivian department, which is Trinidad.

Llanos of Beni Bolivia

Photo of Beni Bolivia

Photo of Beni Bolivia – by Elias Bizannes

Due to its geography, Beni was a major center of a pre-Colombian civilization called the hydraulic culture of Las Lomas. It was this culture that constructed more than 20,000 artifical hills that are entirely interconnected by thousands of sq. kilometers of channels, aqueducts, artificial lakes & lagoons, embankments, and terraces. As mentioned above Beni is a place where there are many lagoons and lakes, the most significant one’s are; the Laguna Suarez, Rogaguado, Rogagua, San Pablo, San Luis, Huachi, Yusala, Huatunas, Agua Clara, Huachuna, Bolivia, Ginebra, Navidad, La Dichosa, Las Abras, Marcaibo and Larga. This Bolivian department is criss-crossed by different rivers and all of them are Amazon tributaries, the largest ones are; the Mamore, Itenez, Madre de Dios, Yata, Madera, Ivon, Itonama, Machupo, Baures, San Miguel, San Martin, San Simon, Secure, Negro, Yacuma, Ibare, Apere and Maniqui. Other important cities in Beni include Riberalta, Guayaramerin, and Rurrenabaque which receives dozens of tourists each year. Between 4000 BC and the 13th Century AD, this area was established by organized and important groups of human societies. Their civil structures and crops were all based on the usage of environment friendly material, for example the application of aquatic plants to be used as fertilizers, rather than harsh pesticides that harm both humans and the environment.


Beni was established on November 18, 1842 throughout the government of Jose Ballivian, just after Bolivia gained its independence in 1825. A large portion of the department is around 155 meters above sea level. Though many areas of the department are quite flat, there are two sierra chains on the border with La Paz and these are called Pelado and Eva Eva. Between the nineteenth century and twentieth century, this Bolivian department became the rubber capital of the country. The abundance of the rubber trees had enticed a lot of people in the region, (most of them were indigenous workers and adventurers) to work inside the big rubber plantations. Several decades have passed and Beni still remains one of the most active and dynamic areas of the country.

Beni is among the nine departments of Bolivia and every department is headed and managed by a Prefect who’s roles and duties are quite the same as to that of a governor. A Prefect is elected to supervise the region for up to 5 years. Beni has eight provinces, these are; the Cercado, Vaca Diez, Jose Ballivian, Yacuma, Moxos, Marban, Itenez and Mamore. All of these provinces are separated into counties, there are forty eight counties total in this Bolivian department.

Beautiful Beni Bolivia
3.94 (78.71%) ratings from 62 users


Leave a Reply